Delete games on PS4 - How to uninstall games to make space on your PlayStation 4


Delete games on PS4 - How to uninstall games to make space on your PlayStation 4

If you're wondering how to delete games from your PS4, you've come to the right place!

If you're trying to make some extra space on your PlayStation 4, deleting games is a very easy way to free up some storage and make room for that big new title that you want to install instead.

Whatever your reasons for wanting to delete a game or two from your PS4, it will only take you a couple of seconds to erase each one from existence.

Read on to discover how to delete a game from your PS4 console...

How to delete games on PS4

To delete a game on your PS4, first, you need to switch the console on and get to the homepage carousel.

Next, scroll over to the icon which represents the game that you want to delete. But don't click on it like you normally would to start the game.

Instead, press the Options button on your PS4 controller. Doing so will bring up a list of options pertaining to this game, one of which will be 'Delete.'

Simply select Delete from this list, and follow any further steps that your PS4 console asks you to do. And that's it - you've now deleted the game!

If you want to delete a game that isn't showing on your PS4 homepage carousel, simply scroll to the right-hand side of the page and select Library.

Once you're in the Library, you should be able to find the relevant game. Then just press Options on the controller, then select Delete from the list that appears, and you're done! The game is deleted.

Will deleting a game on PS4 delete my progress?

Nope! Deleting a PS4 game in this way just deletes the application itself. Your saved data pertaining to the game is still safe, and, if you want, you can reinstall the game later and pick up where you left off.

If you would like to delete your saved game data on PS4, which will mean you have to start the game afresh if you ever load it up again, this is easy to do as well.

To delete saved game data on PS4, first head to the Settings area from the homepage. Then scroll to Application Saved Data Management, select it, and then select Saved Data in System Storage in the next list of options.

You'll see a list of games that have Saved Data on your system. Select the one that you want to delete and follow the simple steps on the screen to wipe your progress in that game from existence.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Gaming, Hardware, and How To pages.