Baldur’s Gate 3 fighter subclasses – which one to choose

Baldur's Gate 3 fighter subclasses Lae'zel

Baldur's Gate 3 fighter subclasses Lae'zel

So you’ve finally decided to go with the fighter class in Larian’s Dungeons and Dragons game but are now tasked with selecting a subclass. Don’t worry if you can’t make up your mind just yet, we’ve come up with this Baldur’s Gate 3 fighter subclasses guide to help you make an informed decision.

Choosing a class and subclass for your characters in Baldur’s Gate 3 is a vital part of the game. It can influence how you handle certain situations and determine your role on the battlefield.

Now, let’s have a look at the different Baldur’s Gate 3 fighter subclasses you can choose from and see what each one has to offer.

Fighter subclass list

Fighters have three subclasses they can choose from – Battle Master, Eldritch Knight, and Champion. You can start making progress on these subclasses upon reaching level 3, which is relatively early on in your journey to reach max level.

Here’s a more in-depth look at each of the fighter subclasses:

Battle Master

Fighters that go with the Battle Master subclass can boost their damage output through brute strength. They are able to create space for their allies by knocking enemies around while maintaining their offense.

This is all done through their Superiority Dice, a limited resource that allows them to perform Maneuvers and tack on an additional 1d8 damage for their attacks.

Eldritch Knight

The Eldritch Knight subclass allows fighters to dabble in some spellcasting. Choose this subclass and you will gain access to offensive spells from the Evocation and Abjuration schools of magic.

To set your expectations though, don’t expect to be hurling thunderbolts from your fingertips non-stop. Most of the spells you learn as an Eldritch Knight are cast on yourself to make you more proficient at chopping things up with your giant sword.


Much like the Battle Master subclass, Champions have increased offensive capabilities in battle. However, they achieve this through precision instead of relying on raw power.

At level 3, Champions will learn an ability called Improved Critical Hit. This lowers a fighter’s target number for a critical hit on their attack roll by 1. It can stack with other similar effects, making a fighter more consistent in landing critical blows on an enemy.

And that’s it for the Baldur’s Gate 3 fighter subclasses. If you’re set on playing the role-playing game as a fighter, you may want to check out the best weapons to use and how to dual-wield them.

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!