How to delete games on Nintendo Switch: Free up space on your Switch without losing save data

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

If you're wondering how to delete game on Nintendo Switch, we've got you covered right here. The Nintendo Switch can be a little bit of a pain when it comes to storage. It's actually not too expensive to upgrade the memory thanks to SD cards, but it's still something you'll need to keep track of.

So, you might be wondering how to delete games on Nintendo Switch, and which of the various methods is the right one for you.

You see, it's not just as simple as deleting a game on Switch, you've got choices, and choices are always good.

Table of Contents

So, here's everything you need to know about how to delete games on Nintendo Switch.

How to delete games on Nintendo Switch

Deleting games on Nintendo Switch is easy, you just need to follow these steps:

  • Move the cursor to the game you want to delete
  • Push the + or - button to bring up the menu
  • Choose Manage Software
  • Choose Delete Software
  • Confirm your heartless decision
Breath Of The Wild taking up too much space?
click to enlarge
Breath Of The Wild taking up too much space?

How to archive games on Nintendo Switch

Advertisement

That's not the only option there, though, if you follow the first three steps, and then choose to 'Archive Software' instead, then you'll still delete the game, but you'll keep the icon on your home screen, which makes it a little bit easier to find if you want it back (for good).

READ MORE: How to get Amazon Prime Video on Nintendo Switch

Does deleting a game on Nintendo Switch delete my save data?

No. The Switch naturally saves data separately from the game itself, and deleting one doesn't automatically delete the other.

This is very good news if you've already deleted the game and didn't think about this as a potential consequence.

In the event that you do want to delete your save data though, here's how:

  • Go to System Settings
  • Select Data Management
  • Select Delete Save Data
  • Choose the game that wronged you
  • Either select a User's data to delete or choose Delete All Save Data for this Software
  • Choose Delete Save Data
Advertisement

It's gone now, you're safe. Never think about how that game wronged you again, you're free to live your best life.

READ MORE: Will the Nintendo Switch Pro have two screens?