How many leagues are there in Duolingo?

How many leagues are there in Duolingo?
Credit: Duolingo

How many leagues are there in Duolingo?
Credit: Duolingo

A frequently asked question by Duolingo newcomers is: "How many leagues are there in Duolingo?" We're here to answer your question.

Duolingo is arguably the best app for learning languages (and music). One of the key features of the app is its league system, which adds an element of competition and motivation to the learning process.

In this article, we will answer the question, "How many leagues are there in Duolingo?" and provide you with more information about them. But, before that, you might wanna know why the Duolingo icon looks sad.

How many leagues are there in Duolingo?

Duolingo has ten leagues: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Sapphire, Ruby, Emerald, Amethyst, Pearl, Obsidian, and Diamond.

When you first sign up for Duolingo, you will be placed in the Bronze League. As you complete lessons and earn points, you will move up to the next league when Duolingo leagues end.

Each league lasts for one week, and at the end of the week, you will either remain in the same league, be promoted to a higher tier, or be demoted to the previous tier based on your performance (XP).

The promotion zone may encompass up to 20 users, varying based on the league you're currently in. Here's the current breakdown:

  • Bronze – Top 20
  • Silver – Top 15
  • Gold – Top 10
  • Sapphire – Top 7
  • Ruby – Top 7
  • Emerald – Top 7
  • Amethyst – Top 7
  • Pearl – Top 7
  • Obsidian – Top 5
  • Diamond – No promotions

Finish 24th or lower in the demotion zone, and you'll drop to the previous league. Land outside both promotion and demotion zones, and you'll stay in your current league for another week.

What will happen after the Diamond League in Duolingo?

There is no league higher than Diamond. This league consists of 15 people, and if you reach the top 10 of the Diamond League, you will be further promoted into the Diamond tournament.

The diamond tournament is a 3-week competition, separated into 3 segments: Tournament 1, Tournament 2, and Finals. The top 10 of each round get promoted to the next round, while the bottom 5 get relegated to the Diamond League.

That covers everything about the number of leagues there in Duolingo. Hope you found our guide helpful. Before heading off, learn how to fix the Duolingo widget not working issue

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

How ToApps
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!