Horizon Forbidden West PC machines list - all enemies in the game

Aloy crouched looking at snake-like machine in Horizon Forbidden West
Credit: PlayStation

Aloy crouched looking at snake-like machine in Horizon Forbidden West
Credit: PlayStation

So, what are these robotic animals you may ask? The machines in Horizon Forbidden West and the Burning Shores expansion are the creatures that occupy the world in Forbidden West.

Horizon Forbidden West showcases a variety of machines that are grouped into separate categories, those being: Acquisition, Combat, Recon and Transport. Now, what do these four classes mean? Well, each one indicates their motive:

  • Acquisition = Collect Resources
  • Combat = Fighting
  • Recon = Hunting
  • Transport = Moving Resources

To ensure you have the best chance against these robotic monsters, check out the Horizon Forbidden West system requirements and how to fast travel in Horizon Forbidden West so you can find them quickly.

Horizon Forbidden West machines list

There’s a total of 43 different machine types in Horizon Forbidden West to keep you on your toes throughout your journey. You may be wondering if you’ll be familiar with any of these critters. Well, if you have played Horizon Zero Dawn previously, you would have met at least 21 of these machines. However, this means there are 22 new ones to keep an eye out for.

See below for all 43 species and their respective classes:

  • Grazer (Acquisition)
  • Burrower (Recon)
  • Scrounger (Acquisition)
  • Leaplasher (Transport)
  • Scrapper (Acquisition)
  • Spikesnout (Acquisition)
  • Skydrifter (Recon)
  • Plowhorn (Acquisition)
  • Charger (Acquisition)
  • Lancehorn (Acquisition)
  • Longleg (Recon)
  • Bristleback (Acquisition)
  • Fanghorn (Acquisition)
  • Redeye Watcher (Recon)
  • Widemaw (Acquisition)
  • Clawstrider (Combat)
  • Corruptor (Combat)
  • Bellowback (Transport)
  • Glinthawk (Acquisition)
  • Shell-Walker (Transport)
  • Stalker (Combat)
  • Grimhorn (Combat)
  • Ravager (Combat)
  • Snapmaw (Acquisition)
  • Sunwing (Acquisition)
  • Clamberjaw (Acquisition)
  • Rollerback (Transport)
  • Rockbreaker (Acquisition)
  • Behemoth (Transport)
  • Dreadwing (Combat)
  • Tideripper (Acquisition)
  • Shellsnapper (Combat)
  • Stormbird (Combat)
  • Thunderjaw (Combat)
  • Frostclaw (Acquisition)
  • Scorcher (Combat)
  • Slitherfang (Combat)
  • Tremortusk (Combat)
  • Fireclaw (Acquisition)
  • Slaughterspine (Combat)
  • Tallneck (Recon)
  • Specter (Combat)
  • Specter Prime (Combat)

Now you know the machines, so you know which of the dinosaurs to start looking out for first. Find out how long the game is in our Horizon Forbidden West length guide!

This Article's Topics

Explore new topics and discover content that's right for you!

GuidesGamingPC Gaming
Have an opinion on this article? We'd love to hear it!