What does "added by mention" mean on Snapchat?


What does "added by mention" mean on Snapchat? - Snapchat app on iPhone

If you've recently received a friend request on Snapchat with the "added by mention" tag, you may be wondering: what does "added by mention" mean on Snapchat?

The language of Snapchat can be hard to decipher for new users. From the mysterious red dot and yellow dot to the unique slang words and acronyms used within the app, navigating this social media platform can feel like cracking a secret code.

In this guide, we'll uncover what "added by mention" means on Snapchat and explain how this tag is used on the popular social media platform.

What does "added by mention" mean on Snapchat?

On Snapchat, "added by mention" means someone added you as a friend after seeing your username mentioned in another user's Snap, Story, or when your profile is shared through Chat by a mutual friend.

Snapchat provides different notifications to inform you about how someone added you. The app mentions the means through which someone added you as a friend to provide transparency and context for you.

If you were added by searching your username, Snapchat displays an "added by search" message. On the other hand, if you were added as a result of being in the same group as the person who added you, Snapchat shows an "in a group with me" message.

Apart from that, the platform also indicates if someone added you through other means like "added by phone" or "added by quick add."

Added by mention but nobody mentioned you in their Story?

Many users find it perplexing when they receive friend requests on Snapchat with the "added by mention" tag, but they cannot recall any recent instances where their username was mentioned by anyone they know.

It is likely because your username was mentioned in a private or hidden story that you couldn't see. Or your profile might have been shared through chat, which could also trigger the "added by mention" tag.

Some users on the internet suggest that the "added by mention" tag could also appear when someone adds you by scanning your Snapcode. In this scenario, it's likely that one of your mutual friends shared your Snapcode with them.

And that concludes our explainer on the "added by mention" tag on Snapchat. While you are here, make sure you check out our other Snapchat guides, including how to see best friends list on Snapchat Plus.

For more articles like this, take a look at our Apps and How To page.