How To Delete Messages From iCloud

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
How To Delete Messages From iCloud

Have no idea how to delete messages from iCloud? We've got you covered!

When you use Messages in iCloud, all of your text messages and the attachments you send and receive are stored on iCloud so that you can access them on any device.

However, messages in iCloud, especially attachments, can take up a lot of storage space, and hence, it requires a spring cleaning to remove all those unwanted messages.

Today, we are going to look at the different ways in which you can delete messages from iCloud.

Advertisement

How To Delete Messages From iCloud

If you are running out of iCloud storage, you can free up iCloud space by deleting texts and attachments - like photos, videos, and files - that you don't need anymore. Below are the different ways to delete messages from iCloud.

Delete a message or attachment on your iPhone or iPad

  1. In a message conversation, touch and hold the message bubble or attachment that you want to delete.
  2. Tap More.
  3. Tap the bin icon in the bottom left, then tap Delete Message. If you want to delete all messages in the thread tap Delete All, in the upper-left corner. Then tap Delete Conversation.
Advertisement

Delete multiple attachments from a contact or conversation

  1. In a message conversation, tap the contact's name at the top of the screen.
  2. Tap the info (i) icon.
  3. In the Photos section, tap See All.
  4. Tap Select, and then tap the images you'd like to delete.
  5. Tap Delete, then tap Delete Attachment to confirm.
Advertisement

Delete an entire conversation

  1. Swipe left over the conversation that you want to delete.
  2. Tap Delete.
  3. Again, tap Delete to confirm.
Advertisement

Keep in mind that the above methods will delete messages from iCloud as well as on your iPhone. If you wish to keep messages on your iPhone, follow the steps mentioned in the next section.

Suppose you don't want your messages to be stored in iCloud. In that case, you can disable it by navigating to Settings > your profile > iCloud and selecting Messages under the Apps using iCloud section. Then, toggle off the switch next to Sync this iPhone.

How To Delete Messages From iCloud But Not iPhone

If you want to delete messages from iCloud but not from your iPhone, just follow the steps below. In this method, your messages will not be deleted instantly, instead, they will be deleted only after 30 days.

  1. Open Settings and tap your name on the banner.
  2. Navigate to iCloud > Manage Account Storage > Messages.
  3. Tap Disable & Delete.
  4. Tap Delete Messages to confirm.
Advertisement

After 30 days, all your messages stored in iCloud will be deleted. In case you change your mind, you can undo this action within 30 days by tapping Undo Disable & Delete. And your device will automatically download your messages, so the messages will not be deleted from your iPhone.

Now that you have learned how to delete messages from iCloud, take a look at how to fix deep scratches on your iPhone screen and how to connect Samsung Galaxy Buds to your Apple iPhone.