How To Turn Off And Disable Quick Resume On Xbox Series X|S

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Thanks to the wonders of Xbox Quick Resume, switching between games has never been quicker or easier. However, certain scenarios arise in which players may wish to disable Quick Resume on Xbox Series X|S.

While the futuristic feature is far better than the old days of closing a game before opening a new one, there are still issues. So, we'll explain exactly what those scenarios might be, and how you can go about it, if you want to.

How To Turn Off And Disable Quick Resume On Xbox Series X|S

A key point to mention is that there is no universal setting that allows you to switch off Quick Resume. You will need to manually disable this feature for each game individually.

As tedious as this sounds, the process is still relatively simple. And you really only need to do this if you find Quick Resume is causing problems with a specific game. You can quickly identify if a game is running Quick Resume by pressing the Xbox button to open the guide. Then, in the top right corner of the screen, you will see Quick Resume. Or not, if it isn't running. If you want to turn it off, follow these steps:

  • Press the Xbox button to open the guide.
  • Go to My games & apps.
  • Select Quick Resume. This will show you a list of games that are currently using the Quick Resume feature.
  • Highlight the game you wish to remove from Quick Resume.
  • Press the Menubutton.
  • Select Remove from Quick Resume.
Advertisement

This will close the game, and delete any unsaved data. Bear in mind as well, that when you next open the game, it will automatically reenable Quick Resume. Microsoft seems determined that players will use this feature. But why might you want to disable it in the first place?

Read More: Warzone Keeps Restarting Fix: Why Does Warzone Keep Force Closing On Xbox?

What Is Quick Resume?

Quick Resume allows you to save the state of the current game when you want to switch from one game to another. So for example, maybe you are immersed in a solo run on Assassin's Creed: Valhalla when your friend pops round. You can suspend that game and quickly switch to a game of FIFA. Then, when they've gone home, go back to Assassin's Creed and, in just a few seconds, pick up exactly where you left off. On Xbox Series X|S, you can have up to three different titles in a Quick Resume state concurrently.

This means that instead of having to boot a game from scratch, which can take a bit of time, Quick Resume will resume your game in mere seconds, at the exact point you left it. This can even work after the system has been shut down and restarted.

Advertisement

Read More: Xbox’s Phil Spencer says Metaverse must revolve around play, not work

prime-day-trial
Don't Miss Out! Prime Day is coming! Claim your FREE 30-day Prime trial for exclusive Prime Day deals!

But while this feature is wonderful in principle, the reality is that some games run into trouble when using Quick Resume. It has led to game crashes and other glitches that cost users more time than Quick Resume saves.

Even though the majority of Series X|S games are supported to use Quick Resume, they are still occasionally impacted by this. It is in these scenarios where you may want to disable Quick Resume, to ensure that your game isn't ruined. Follow the steps we outlined above, and you'll ensure that you avoid any Quick Resume problems.