How many leagues are there in Duolingo?

How many leagues are there in Duolingo?
Credit: Duolingo

Wondering how many leagues are there in Duolingo? We can tell you!

With its gamified approach to language learning, Duolingo has made it fun for millions of people around the world to learn a new language. One of the key features of the app is its league system, which adds an element of competition and motivation to the learning process.

In this article, we will answer the question, "How many leagues are there in Duolingo?" and provide you with more information about them. So, let's get right into it!

How many leagues are there in Duolingo?

Duolingo's leagues are an excellent way to motivate language learners and provide them with a sense of progress and accomplishment.

The leaderboard, which ranks users based on the number of XP they earn, creates a sense of competition among users that can be a great motivator to keep learning.

Duolingo has ten leagues, and here are the names of the leagues in ascending order:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Sapphire
  • Ruby
  • Emerald
  • Amethyst
  • Pearl
  • Obsidian
  • Diamond

When you first sign up for Duolingo, you will be placed in the Bronze League. As you complete lessons and earn points, you will move up to the next league.

Each league lasts for one week, and at the end of the week, you will either remain in the same league, be promoted to a higher tier, or be demoted to the previous tier based on your performance (XP).

What will happen after the Diamond league in Duolingo?

There is no league higher than Diamond. This league consists of 15 people, and if you reach the top 10 of the Diamond league, you will be further promoted into the Diamond tournament.

The diamond tournament is a 3-week competition, separated into 3 segments: Tournament 1, Tournament 2, and Finals. The top 10 of each round get promoted to the next round, while the bottom 5 get relegated to the Diamond league.

So, the next time someone asks you, "How many leagues are there in Duolingo?" you can confidently answer that there are ten leagues and they are Bronze, Silver, Gold, Sapphire, Ruby, Emerald, Amethyst, Pearl, Obsidian, and Diamond.

For more articles like this, take a look at our How To and Apps page.