How to - block on TikTok 2023


How to block on TikTok

Whether it's dealing with online harassment or simply wanting to curate a more positive environment, knowing how to block people on TikTok is essential.

Social media is a great way to interact with people from all over the world. With the ability to follow other users and comment on their videos, TikTok is no different. But sometimes, these interactions aren't always so pleasant.

In this concise guide, we'll show you how to effortlessly block users on TikTok. You might also need to know how to hide bad comments on TikTok Live to maintain a respectful and engaging live stream.

How to block on TikTok

Blocking people is a common feature across many different social media apps for good reason. It's a great way to manage your privacy.

On TikTok, you can block certain people individually or block an entire group in one go. We'll show you how to do both.

How to block specific people

Blocking someone on TikTok should only take a few seconds of your time by following these steps:

  • Go to the person's profile.
  • Tap on the three-dot icon at the top right corner.
  • Tap on Block.
  • A message will show up asking you to confirm whether you'd like to block this person. Tap on the Block option.

And just like that, that person shouldn't be able to bother you on TikTok anymore.

Blocking a group of people

Unfortunately, the internet is full of people that like to band together in the name of being unpleasant towards others. A common place for this to happen is on the comment sections of videos.

Here's how to block several commenters at the same time:

  • Visit the comments section of your video.
  • Tap and hold one of the comments.
  • Select Manage multiple comments.
  • Choose the users you wish to block.
  • Tap on More.
  • Tap on Block accounts.

You can block up to 100 different users at a time through this method.

How to block on TikTok without viewing their profile

TikTok has a profile view feature that lets users see who has visited their profile. Because of this, you may be looking for a way to block someone without them knowing you paid their page a visit.

One way to block someone on TikTok without viewing their profile is to block them via their comments on your video. Follow the steps on how to block a group of people at once listed above and include that person in your list.

Another way to block someone on TikTok without viewing their profile is to turn your profile views feature off before accessing their profile. This way they will not know that you visited their profile to block them.

What happens when you block someone on TikTok?

Blocking someone on TikTok will prevent them from interacting with you in any form. This includes visiting your profile and commenting on your videos.

Also, keep in mind that users will not get a notification about being blocked by someone. The only way for them to find out is if they try to interact with you or your profile again.

But, if you have a change of heart, do know that there is also a way to unblock people on TikTok.

For more articles like this, take a look at our How To and Apps page.