Does Minecraft autosave: How often does Minecraft autosave, how to turn on Minecraft autosave

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

With Minecraft being such an expansive game, it's important that players save their game on a regular basis to avoid losing their hard-won progress. On the other hand, some players may prefer not to save before embarking on an endeavour, just in case things go wrong, and they can return to a point when life was still good. So the question we are asking today is: Does Minecraft autosave? And if so, how often will it do this? If you want your save related questions answering, read on.

How often does Minecraft autosave?

In an effort to ensure players don't lose vast amounts of work, Minecraft does have an autosave feature that's automatically set-up, regardless of what platform you are using. This protects players from things like server outages, power cuts, and the like. There are slightly conflicting reports as to how frequently Minecraft autosaves, but the consensus seems to suggest that autosaving happens extremely frequently. Anywhere between every few seconds, and every five minutes, as a rough indication. Regardless of the exact timings, you can be confident that autosaves happen on a regular basis. In the event that you do suffer a misfortune, you will only lose a relatively small amount of work.

Advertisement

Having said all that, there are some console legacy version which allow you to disable autosave. Some players have found that they prefer this flexibility, as it will allow them to revert to an earlier point in the game. This can be beneficial, if they've made a catastrophic mistake, or someone is effected by griefing, for example.

Read More: How to fix Minecraft Error Code Pufferfish “Failed to sign into your Minecraft Account”

How to turn on Minecraft Autosave

As we noted above, autosaving happens by default on Minecraft, but can be deactivated on some legacy console versions. If you are still playing one of those versions, and want to reactivate autosave, it is relatively simple. When you try to save your game, it should offer a prompt asking if you would like to reactivate autosave.

Should i use it?

If you are frustrated by autosave, then your options are slightly more limited. At the time of writing, there doesn't appear to be any way of deactivating it. Some payers have resorted to copying their world before starting a new session. Then, if things go well, great. But if things go badly, they can just delete that version of their world, and revert to a previous save. Perhaps not ideal for everyone, but if you really hate the autosave function, this may be your only option.

Read More: Minecraft: How to fix unable to connect to world error on Xbox, PS4, iPhone, and Switch