As the desire for digital detox and privacy grows, many individuals find themselves contemplating the act of deleting the Snapchat app from their devices. But what happens if you delete the Snapchat app?
Does it merely remove the white ghost icon from your phone screen, or does your account go away with it? Will it affect your Snapchat score? Will it delete your messages and memories?
We'll give you the answers to those questions and more in this article.
What happens if you delete the Snapchat app?
Deleting the Snapchat app from your device does not delete your account. Your account will remain active unless you explicitly permanently delete your Snapchat account.
This means that all of your contacts, memories and messages will still be there as well if you decide to reinstall the app or access your account through Snapchat Web.
However, deleting Snapchat will affect your streaks and will depend on how long you stay away from the app. If you do return to the platform within 24 hours, you will lose your Snapchat streak.
How to delete your Snapchat account
If you feel like you're actually done with Snapchat, deleting your account can be done by simply not using the app for 30 consecutive days. But since this means that your friends and contacts can still access your profile, there is a more proactive way of doing this.
- Go to the accounts portal.
- Enter the username and password for the account you wish to delete. This will deactivate your account.
- Wait 30 days.
After the 30 days are up, your account will be permanently deleted. The difference between deactivating your account and simply refusing to use Snapchat for 30 days is that people won't be able to contact you or see your profile after deactivation.
Having to wait 30 days is there just in case you change your mind and decide to start using Snapchat again. If that happens, all you need to do is log back in and your account will be back to normal.
If you decide to return to Snapchat after 30 days have passed since deactivation, your only option is to create a new account as there is no way to recover a deleted Snapchat account.
For more articles like this, take a look at our Apps page.