TikTok Profile View History: How To Turn On/Off Profile View History On TikTok?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Lately, there have been rumours that TikTok is working on reintroducing the profile view history feature to its app. In fact, the feature is available to some users already. If you are one of those users, this article is going to give you a little insight into how to turn on the profile view history on TikTok.

While TikTok read receipts still aren't a thing, the new profile view feature gives you some indication of who's looking you up on TikTok. Unless that is, they're watching TikTok without the app.

So if you want to know if your ex or crush is searching for you on TikTok, then, read on. Also, we will tell you how to look at someone without leaving any trace. Keep reading!

Advertisement

Can You See Who Viewed Your TikTok Profile?

Yes, you can see who viewed your TikTok profile. Not everyone though.

TikTok had the profile views feature in the past, however, around mid-2020, the company removed this feature from their app. And guess what? The feature is back!

After some users have reported that the profile view history feature is now available on their dashboard, TikTok has now confirmed users can see who has viewed their profile in the last 30 days.

However, the feature is not available to every user. Specifically, to use the TikTok profile view history, you must have less than 5000 followers and be older than 16.

Advertisement

What is Profile View History Feature?

If you have been wondering how to see who viewed your TikTok profile in 2022, you are in luck. The profile views feature allows users to see who viewed their profile in the past 30 days. Just turn the feature on and it will tell you who looks at your TikTok. Although whether this is a good thing or not, remains to be seen.

When someone snoops on your profile, TikTok will send you a notification to inform you that someone viewed your profile. You can view the list of people who visited your profile in the notification tab. The profile view notification typically looks like “xxx has viewed your profile [point of time].”

This is a great feature because it gives you a glimpse into whether someone is monitoring you. However, you have to explicitly turn this feature on to get the profile view notifications.

Advertisement

How to Turn on Profile View History on TikTok?

So you’re curious to know who viewed your TikTok profile huh? Well, it is very easy to turn on the profile view history on TikTok. If you're one of the users who have this feature right now, here is how to turn on profile view history on TikTok:

  1. Open TikTok and tap on the Profile icon.
  2. Open your settings through the 3-line menu icon in the top right corner, and select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Click on Privacy, and then go to Profile Views.
  4. Turn on the Profile view history toggle.
Advertisement

Alternatively, you can take the following steps to turn on the profile view history feature.

1. In your TikTok app, tap Profile in the bottom right.2. Tap the 3-line menu icon in the top right to go to your settings.3. Tap Settings and Privacy.4. Tap Privacy, then tap Profile views.5. Toggle on the Profile view history feature.

Now that you have turned on the Profile view history feature, let's learn how to see the people who visited your TikTok profile in the past 30 days.

How To See Who Viewed Your TikTok Profile

You can see who viewed your TikTok profile by clicking the eye icon in your profile tab. If you tap it, you will be taken to the visitors’ history page where all your viewers reside. Take a close look at them.

  1. Open TikTok and tap on the Profile icon.
  2. Tap the eye icon located on the top bar.
  3. That's it! You will see the list of accounts that viewed you in the past 30 days. 
Advertisement

It's worth mentioning that if you have your profile view feature turned off, you won't be showing up in the history of the person you are looking up. Needless to say, you won't be able to view the list of the people who are searching for you. Fair enough, right?

How to Turn off Profile View History on TikTok?

Now, let's see how to turn off profile views on TikTok, so you can search without anyone knowing. Here is how to turn off profile view history on TikTok:

  1. Tap the profile icon.
  2. Click on the eye icon located on the top bar.
  3. Tap the Gear icon to view the options.
  4. Toggle off Profile view history, and you are safe. 
Advertisement

This way you can view someone's TikTok profile without them knowing. However, there is a trade-off - you will not be able to see your profile visitors list while the profile view history feature is turned off. You can turn the feature back on whenever you please, following the instructions in the previous section.

Does TikTok Tell You Who Viewed Your Profile 2022?

Yes, if both you and the person who viewed your profile have the profile view history feature turned on, TikTok will notify you that this particular person viewed your profile.

Conversely, if the person has the profile view history feature turned off or they are snooping without a TikTok account (via web), you will not be notified.

TikTok Profile View History Not Working

TikTok's profile view history has a barrier. If only you are 16 years of age or older and have fewer than 5,000 followers, you will have access to this feature.

If the feature is not working for you, then it's probably because you don't meet the requirements. If that's not the case, you can try the following fixes:

  • Update the app.
  • Try logging out and logging in again.
  • See if the TikTok servers are up and running.
Advertisement

If you have tried all the above suggestions and you are still having trouble, then you can contact the TikTok support team. They will definitely help you out.