If you are reading this, then chances are you are looking up someone, but you are getting a "User not found" error on Instagram.
It is common for Instagram users to run into problems. There are times when Instagram won't let them post. In some cases, Instagram deletes accounts for no reason. It can be frustrating, no matter what the issue is.
Another issue that confuses many users is the "User not found" error on Instagram. Today, we will try to demystify it, explaining the various reasons why you may come across this annoying error. Let's get started!
What Does “User not found" Mean On Instagram?
Many Instagram users are left puzzled when they come across the "User not found" error message. Users often wonder what this means and what causes this error.
Well, when you receive the "User not found" error on Instagram, it means:
- The account is temporarily disabled.
- The account has been deleted.
- The user has been banned. In other words, the account has been deleted.
- You’ve been blocked.
In the end, it all comes down to two basic reasons why you are receiving this error. Either the account has been deleted (temporarily or permanently), or you have been blocked by that user. Read on to uncover the real reason!
- Read More: How To Fix Instagram Crashing
Instagram User Not Found But Can See Bio
If you're receiving the "User not found" error on Instagram but can see the user's bio and profile picture, it means only one thing. This may be a bit hard for you to accept, but the bitter truth, my friend, is that you have been blocked by the user.
If you have been blocked, the user's profile would appear to you like this:
If you still doubt it, the best way to confirm it would be to ask a mutual friend (or create a fake account yourself) to check if they can access the profile or not. If they can do so, then you can be sure that you've been blocked.
User Not Found Instagram But Not Blocked
If you haven't been blocked, then the user has temporarily disabled their account or permanently deleted it. If the account has been deleted or disabled, the user's profile would, typically, appear to you like this:
The name of the user will change to "Instagram User," and unlike in the case of blocking, you won't be able to see their profile picture, bio or post/followers/follower count.
- Read More: How To Turn Off Suggested Posts On Instagram
Instagram User Not found But Can Message
Whether you have been blocked or the account has been deleted, the user would still be there in your chats and you will be able to send them messages. The messages wouldn't go through, however.
There is a small difference, though, between the two. In the case of deleted or disabled account, the user's name will appear as "Instagram User" and no profile picture will be present. In contrast, if you were blocked, the username and profile picture will remain the same.