Does TikTok Have Read Receipts?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook
Does TikTok Have Read Receipts?

If you are wondering whether TikTok has read receipts, then this article will answer your question. 

Read receipts are one of the most essential features of any app that supports messaging. It helps you to know if the message you have sent has been read or not. This feature is available on most social apps like WhatsApp, Snapchat, and Instagram.

But, the question is: Does TikTok have read receipts? In this post, we will discuss the same. Let’s dive into the details.

Advertisement

Does TikTok Have Read Receipts?

No, TikTok doesn't have read receipts, as of yet. However, they are working on it, it seems. In fact, the official TikTok support page appears to have instructions to turn on/off read receipts. So, we are hopeful that it will be rolled out soon.

Lately, the company has been adding new features to its app, including the ability to upload 10 minutes videos, watch history and TikTok playlist. In addition, the company has introduced the repost feature which allows users to share videos with their friends.

Apparently, the company is focusing more on enhancing video features, rather than messaging. After all, TikTok is a video-centric app not a messaging app. However, when the company decides to add read receipts, it will be very useful for its community.

How To Tell If Someone Read Your TikTok Message

Presently, there is no way to tell if someone has read your TikTok message. However, as we mentioned above, TikTok is working on it and will introduce it soon.

Keep your eyes peeled and install the latest updates as soon as possible to enjoy the latest read receipt feature at the earliest.

Advertisement

How To Turn Off/On Read Receipts On TikTok

Finally, TikTok users are going to receive read receipts. Read receipts allow you to see if someone has read your direct message and vice versa. Much like the profile view history feature, you will know if someone has read your TikTok message only when both of you have read receipts turned on.

To turn read receipts off or on:

  1. Tap Profile in the bottom right.
  2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
  3. Tap Settings and privacy.
  4. Tap Privacy, then tap Direct messages.
  5. Below Message preferences, toggle off/on the switch next to Read receipts to disable/enable it.
Advertisement

If you are someone who doesn't want others to know you have read their message, you can choose to turn it off. However, keep in mind that if it is disabled, you will never know if someone has read your message.